Dear IGU Colleagues

Firstly, allow me to thank you all for being willing to stand for election for the vacant IGU Vice-President positions. Thanks to the diligent work of both Aharon Kellerman and Jarkko Saarinen as tellers, I am pleased to be able to report the official results of the recent e-ballot. 51 National Committees cast their vote, which represents an 85% turnout of eligible countries.

Here are the vote counts, with names and country of the candidates:

IGU EC Positions

Candidate Country Vote in Favor


Secretary – General (SG) (01) Barbaros  Gonencgil (SG) Turkey 51 Elected
Vice-President (VP) (04)


Maria Paradiso (VP) Italy 43 Elected
Ruben Lois-Gonzalez (VP) Spain 39 Elected
Phil McManus (VP) Australia 35 Elected
Bojie Fu (VP) China 29 Elected
Yazidhi Bamutaze Uganda 28
Suresh Chand Rai India 19

This means that Barbaros is confirmed (unanimously) as Secretary-General, and Ruben and Bojie are re-elected – all for four years after the Paris Congress.  The EC will be joined for the period 2022-26 by Professor Maria Paradiso and Professor Phil McManus.  My most sincere appreciation goes to both unsuccessful candidates, as you can see, it was a very remarkably close-run race indeed, and it is clear that the IGU community is very impressed by the credentials of all candidates.


IGU President