IGU Commissions are established for the study of a specific geographical issue or topic which benefits from international collaboration.  Commissions promote individual and group research work, encourage the exchange of ideas and organize conferences, meetings and, where appropriate, field excursions, both between Congresses and in association with International Geographical Congresses.  Task Forces are established from time to time to pursue specific objectives of the IGU.

Commission and Task Force chairpersons for the period 2020-2024 are as follows:

C20.01 African Studies
Chair, Dr. Inocent Moyo, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies, University of Zululand, Private Bag X1001, KwaDlangezwa 3886 South Africa

Phone: +27 0 35 9026340
Mobile: +27 72 106 2632
Email: minnoxa.m@gmail.com
URL: http://www.unizulu.ac.za/

C20.02 Agricultural Geography and Land Engineering
Chair, Professor Yansui Liu, Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 11A Datun Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100101, China

Phone: +86 10 64889037
E-Mail: liuys@igsnrr.ac.cn

C20.03 Applied Geography 
Chair, Associate Professor Nik Lomax, School of Geography, University of Leeds, UK

Phone: +44 1133434421
E-mail: n.m.lomax@leeds.ac.uk
URL: https://agcigu.wordpress.com/

C20.04 Biogeography and Biodiversity 
Chair, Dr Suraj Mal, Department of Geography, Shaheed Bhagat Singh College, University of Delhi, Delhi, India 

Phone: +91 996 816 6893
Fax: +91 112 925 7472
E-mail: surajdse@gmail.com
URL: http://igubiogeography.in/

C20.05 Climatology