The International Geographical Union (IGU) recently convened in Beijing for its 33rd International Geographical Congress. In accordance with IGU Statutes, we hold a General Assembly as part of Congress proceedings to elect, inter alia, the leadership of the organization. As a result of a ballot held at the Beijing General Assembly, Professor Yukio Himiyama, Hokkaido University of Education, was unanimously elected as IGU President for the period 2016 to 2020.

This is a singular honour: the IGU will celebrate its centennial at an Extraordinary Congress in Paris in 2022 and has more than 100 member countries and 41 Commissions and Task Forces. Professor Himiyama is congratulated on his acceding to the Presidency and we can be confident that, under his guidance, the IGU will continue to grow in strength and influence.

The IGU Executive for the period 2016-18 is as follows:

Yukio Himiyama, Japan, President

Michael Meadows, South Africa, Secretary-General and Treasurer

Joos Droogleever-Fortuijn, Netherlands, First Vice-President                      

Vladimir Kolosov, Russia, Past President                                                                                                

Elena dell’Agnese, Italy, Vice-President                                                         

Barbaros Gönençgil, Turkey, Vice-President

Iain Hay, Australia, Vice-President

Nathalie Lemarchand, France, Vice-President

RB Singh, India, Vice-President

Rémy Tremblay, Canada, Vice-President                                                     

Zhou Chenghu, China-Beijing, Vice-President