At the recent American Association of Geographers annual meeting in Tampa, Florida, former IGU President Anne Buttimer was presented with the AAG Lifetime Achievement Honors award in recognition of her five decades of distinguished and prolific scholarship as well as extraordinary dedication, service, and perseverance in the name of the geographic profession around the world.  Anne is seen here receiving the award from AAG President Julie Willikin.

IGU Past President Ron Abler (who is still a member of the Executive Committee) was recognized for his fifty years of continuous membership of the  AAG.