The IGU Is pleased to announce the winners of its various awards.  These will be presented at the Extraordinalr International Geographical Congress in Paris, 18th to 22nd July 2022.   Two new awards were inaugurated this year: the IGU Award for Distinguished Practice and the Early Career Award, along with its long-standing Lauréat d’Honneur, and Planet and Humanity Medal.

The winners in their various categories are as follows:

Distinguished Practice Award

Liu, Yansui (China-Beijing)
Ono, Yugo (Japan)
Pain, Rachel (UK)
Thom, Bruce (Australia)

Early Career Award 

Kubo, Tomoko (Japan).
Lim, Kean Fan (UK)
Wang, Shuai (China-Beijing)
Yang, Yuanyuan (China-Beijing)
Yenneti, Komali (UK)

 IGU Lauréat d’Honneur

Berg, Kath (Australia)
Lew, Alan (USA)
Murayama, Yuji (Japan)
Qin, Dahe (China-Beijing)

IGU Planet and Humanity Medal

Thunberg, Greta (Sweden)
(Note: Frank Dangermond, USA, won this award in 2021 and will be presented with his medal at the Paris Extraordinary Congress).

Congratulations to all our winners!