The IGU is delighted to announce that our First V-P, Professor Iain Hay, has been elected as one of the American Association of Geographers Class of 2021 Fellows.  The AAG Fellows programme, started in 2018, recognises geographers who have made significant contributions to advancing geography.

Dr. Iain Hay is Matthew Flinders Distinguished Emeritus Professor of Geography in the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences and former foundation Dean (Education) for the College at Flinders University. Hay is the recipient of multiple awards for his research, teaching, and service, especially for his outstanding contribution to the discipline and his leadership in international geography education. Among his awards are the inaugural AAG E. Willard and Ruby S. Miller Award and the Taylor & Francis Award of the Royal Geographical Society and Institute of British Geographers.

Hay was also the Australian Discipline Scholar for the Arts, Social Sciences, and Humanities. He is the author or editor of many books and has held editorial roles with multiple journals, most recently serving as Editor-in-Chief of Geographical Research. Hay has a long history of service to the Institute of Australian Geographers, serving as its Secretary and President. Dr. Hay is currently First Vice-President of the International Geographical Union.

Dr. Hay’s work attends to understanding and overcoming geographies of domination and oppression, giving particular attention to education and ethics. For his achievements and extensive contributions to the international development of the discipline of geography, the AAG recognizes Iain Hay with this appointment as an AAG Fellow.